CompTIA Security+ SY0-301 Authorized Cert Guide, 2nd Edition

Learn, prepare, and practice for CompTIA Security+ SY0-301exam success with this CompTIA Authorized Cert Guide, Deluxe Edition from Pearson IT Certification, a leader in IT Certification learning and a CompTIA Authorized Platinum Partner. DVD features three complete practice exams, complete video solutions to the 25 hands-on labs, plus 25 interactive flash-based learning activities that include drag-n-drop and matching to reinforce the learning.

  • Master CompTIA’s Security+ SY0-301 exam topics
  • Assess your knowledge with chapter-ending quizzes
  • Review key concepts with exam preparation tasks
  • Practice with realistic exam questions on the DVD
  • Includes complete video solutions to the 25 hands-on labs
  • Plus 25 interactive learning activities on key exam topics

CompTIA Security+ SY0-301 Authorized Cert Guide, Deluxe Edition includes video solutions to the hands-on labs, practice tests, and interactive activities that let the reader learn by doing. Best-selling author and expert instructor David Prowse shares preparation hints and test-taking tips, helping you identify areas of weakness and improve both your conceptual knowledge and hands-on skills. Material is presented in a concise manner, focusing on increasing your understanding and retention of exam topics.

The book presents you with an organized test preparation routine through the use of proven series elements and techniques. Exam topic lists make referencing easy. Chapter-ending Exam Preparation Tasks help you drill on key concepts you must know thoroughly. Review questions help you assess your knowledge, and a final preparation chapter guides you through tools and resources to help you craft your approach to passing the exam.

The companion Deluxe Edition DVD contains the powerful Pearson IT Certification Practice Test engine, with three complete practice exams and hundreds of exam-realistic questions. The assessment engine offers you a wealth of customization options and reporting features, laying out a complete assessment of your knowledge to help you focus your study where it is needed most. The Deluxe Edition DVD also includes complete video solutions to the 25 hands-on labs in the book and 25 interactive learning activities on key exam topics to reinforce the learning by doing. Learning activities such as test password strength, match the type of Malware with its definition, find the security issues in the network map, and disallow a user access to the network on Saturday and Sunday.

Interactive Learning Activities:

  • 2.1 Filtering Emails
  • 2.2 Malware Types
  • 2.3 Securing the BIOS
  • 3.1 Stopping Services in the Command Prompt
  • 3.2 Patch Management
  • 5.1 Port Numbers, Part 1
  • 5.2 Port Numbers, Part 2
  • 5.3 Port Numbers, Part 3
  • 5.4 Network Attacks, Part 1
  • 5.5 Network Attacks, Part 2
  • 5.6 Network Attacks, Part 3
  • 5.7 Network Attacks, Part 4
  • 6.1 Network Security
  • 7.1 Password Strength
  • 8.1 802.1X Components
  • 8.2 Authentication Types
  • 9.1 Access Control Models
  • 9.2 Configuring Logon Hours
  • 10.1 Risk Assessment, Part 1
  • 10.2 Risk Assessment, Part 2
  • 10.3 Vulnerability Management Process
  • 11.1 Packet Analysis
  • 12.1 Symmetric and Asymmetric Algorithms
  • 14.1 RAID Levls
  • 15.1 Social Engineering Types

Hands-On Labs:

  • 2-1 Using Free Malware Scanning Programs
  • 2-2 How to Secure the BIOS
  • 3-1 Discerning & Updating Service Pack Level
  • 3-2 Creating a Virtual Machine
  • 3-3 Securing a Virtual Machine
  • 4-1 Securing the Browser
  • 4-2 Disabling Applications
  • 5-1 Port Scanning Basics
  • 6-1 Packet Filtering and NAT Firewalls
  • 6-2 Configuring Inbound Filter on a Firewall
  • 6-3 Enabling MAC Filtering
  • 7-1 Securing a Wireless Device: 8 Steps
  • 7-2 Wardriving and the Cure
  • 8-1 Enabling 802.1X on a Network Adapter
  • 8-2 Setting Up a VPN
  • 9-1 Password Policies and User Accounts
  • 9-2 Configuring User and Group Permissions
  • 10-1 Mapping and Scanning the Network
  • 10-2 Password Cracking and Defense
  • 11-1 Using Protocol Analyzers
  • 12-1 Disabling LM Hash in Windows Server 2003
  • 13-1 A Basic Example of PKI
  • 13-2 Making an SSH Connection
  • 14-1 Configuring RAID 1 and 5
  • 16-1 How to Approach Exam Questions

Well-regarded for its level of detail, assessment features, and challenging review questions and exercises, this CompTIA authorized study guide helps you master the concepts and techniques that will enable you to succeed on the exam the first time.

The CompTIA authorized study guide helps you master all the topics on the Security+ exam, including

  • Core computer system security
  • OS hardening and virtualization
  • Application security
  • Network design elements and threats
  • Perimeter security
  • Network media and devices security
  • Physical security and authentication models
  • Access control
  • Vulnerability and risk assessment
  • Monitoring and auditing
  • Cryptography, including PKI
  • Redundancy and disaster recovery
  • Policies and procedures

Book Details

  • Hardcover: 800 pages
  • Publisher: Pearson IT Certification; 2nd Edition (December 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0789748274
  • ISBN-13: 978-0789748270
Download [27.0 MiB]

You may also like...

Leave a Reply